• Announcements

• Willow

Welcome to the forum!   09/17/2017

Please come in from the rain and sit by the fire! We're happy you found us and hope you will feel at home here.  
storm-petrel

Would you bother or feel able to respond to this?

storm-petrel

I work in the rail industry. On my very early shift this morning I spent quite a bit of time sitting in the messroom. I had my headphones on as I was going through some paperwork but I could still hear the conversation going on between other members of staff.

After a while the conversation moved on to railway enthusiasts. A lot of railway staff seem to really hate railway enthusiasts which was certainly the case with everyone else present in the room this morning. The conversation was basically a rant about what a nuisance these sad people were. Based on past experience I had an idea of where the conversation might be going so I took my headphones off to listen properly.

At one point somebody said, "I bet they're all on the autistic spectrum or have Asperger's". 

They then spent some time enlightening everyone else as to what people with Asperger's were like. Apparently they are all really rude, they push past everyone on the trains, shout at passengers and are abusive, take absolutely everything literally and become really aggressive if asked not to do something. They never wash, so they stink. They also like numbers which is why they are all trainspotters. The fact that trains are predictable, always run to a timetable with the same number of coaches (some irony there), and have numbers on the side is what makes them so interesting to anyone with Asperger's. The conversation continued in a similar vein for some time with other people adding a few more stereotypes. Sheldon Cooper came up at one point. No one challenged anything that was said. In fact it all seemed to be turning into one big hilarious joke.