• Announcements

• Willow

Welcome to the forum!   09/17/2017

Please come in from the rain and sit by the fire! We're happy you found us and hope you will feel at home here.  

Laurie

Hi everyone, I'm a recent female college graduate with HFA. I was officially diagnosed with Autism spectrum disorder by a doctor when I was 21.  It took me six months to find a job (which I'm grateful for getting) Overall, I like my job. I work at a doctor's office doing insurance verification. I like getting paid and getting good insurance benefits the most. I'm the youngest one at my clinic I've met some really nice people. However, there are some people I don't get along with and it frustrates me so sometimes I cry at work. (I've a big crier and cry when I'm overwhelmed frequently throughout my life. (I know I'm weird) I'm like ultra sensitive. 

Its just embarrassing when I cry at work and I don't want people to not like me. I'm making the best at my job because I need a good reference. 

Since graduating from college, I don't really hang out with people much which I'm fine with but I feel like I'm different than most people my age. 

I need some advice on what I should do for a job. I'm not sure if I want to continue with medical coding or insurance verification but I don't know what I'd be good at. 

Thanks!

• Helpful 3

Heather

Hi welcome to the forum.

I also am embarrassed to say it but have cried at work.  At my new job that I have been at for 3 months it has mostly been only when I have made a mistake and then am trying to explain it.

I know I also cry sometimes when overwhelmed. Almost always the crying happens because I have to explain it and don't know how and I think it has to do with the pressure I feel to make a good impression and not to make mistakes. It is better now that I know what to do if I make most types of mistakes and also I am more familiar with my superviser and other coworkers so it is easier to let them know things.