• Announcements

• Willow

Welcome to the forum!   09/17/2017

Please come in from the rain and sit by the fire! We're happy you found us and hope you will feel at home here.  
Sign in to follow this  
PandaPrincess

Problems With Black- and- White Thinking at Work

PandaPrincess

I work as a substitute teacher, and I find the most challenging aspect of the job to be classroom management.  The problem for me is that the school rules have so many gray areas, that I often find myself wondering at which point a behavior is unacceptable.  For instance, today, the kids were packing up to go home.  They were being loud, and I kept thinking, "Okay, are they being too loud?  Should I tell them to be quiet?  At what point are they considered too loud?"  And I was also thinking, "well, even if they are being a little loud, it's the end of the day, so does it really matter?  They're not hurting anyone."  Also, while this was happening, two kids bumped into each other and a chair fell on top of them, so I asked them if they were okay and I was still processing what happened there to even really think about what the rest of the kids were doing, and then, this loud-mouthed teacher came into the room and said "You're being waaaayyy too loud!  We could hear you clear across the school!!! It's embarrassing!!! Blah!  Blah! Blah!" And then I was thinking, "I didn't think they were that bad. No one is hurt, after all.  And it's the end of the school day too, so why does it matter?"  

So I guess I really have two issues here:  1. What kind of behavior is acceptable vs. non-acceptable  and 2. Understanding the rules in a concrete way.  I imagine situations such as the one I described above as a gradation with one end of the scale being "Completely Quiet" and the other end being "Too Loud" and I don't know where to draw the line because it's all very subjective and those two things can mean different things to different people, so I don't think that it can be objectively measured.