Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Charles

Advice on telling students I am leaving?

Charles

Looking for some advice if anybody has some input.  I am a special education teacher.   At the end of this school year (in 4 weeks) I am leaving my current school to transfer 40 minutes closer to home.

I am not sure when/how/if I should tell students and their parents that I am leaving and there will be a replacement.

Some teachers make an announcement a month before they leave.  They give a speech about how important this year has been to them, how they love all the students, etc,etc.

This all feels SO AWKWARD to me it kills me.  I don't know what to say.  I'm not convinced that it really matters if I say anything.  I am not sure how to respond if students express goodbye or if they express distress I am not returning.  I am left feeling like I should say more - something more emotional, more significant, more lifechanging.  

Yes, it will be kind of hard to leave, but I don't really want to express those feelings in front of groups.  Especially since I have a hard time giving words to them.

I will admit, once several years ago when I was leaving a school, I chickened out.  I didn't say anything at all to the students.  On the last day I just said "Have a nice summer!" as they filed out the room.

So, what does anybody think?  Should I tell my students and their parents?  How far before the end of the year should I say something?  How should I say it?  Is it even necessary?

Ala

Even if it may not be necessary to say anything, I think that maybe it might be important at least for you and for you to get the chance to do what you personally think is the right thing to do.

I know a teacher that didn't tell the pupils she was leaving and just didn't go back the next term. Not good for any Aspies in the class but it solves your problem.

Nesf