roxie_buttons

Worried about assessment outcome

roxie_buttons

Hi,

I've been lurking on the site for a while :blush: - I'm currently self-diagnosed but am going for my formal assessment in a week and I'm suddenly really worried.

I'm 30 years old, and came to the realization I might be an aspie earlier this year. I work in a school and some ASD assessment paperwork for a student came across my desk to file and I realised all but one or two of the characteristics fit me.  It was a real light-bulb moment to be honest.  I live in Kent and met with a support worker from the Kent Autistic Trust to find out more information.  They agreed it seemed very likely that I was on the spectrum, and supported me in deciding what to do next.  Asperclick was one of my first stops for more information - thank you for helping me to realise i'm not alone  :)

The NHS in my area currently has a three year waiting list for a referral for diagnosis (which is quite frankly ridiculous) so i'm going down the private route.  I'm not too bothered about it affecting my ability to access NHS support services in the future - they're pretty dire in my area anyway - but i would like the security of a diagnosis.  I have had difficulty keeping the same job for more than a year, for the last 9 years.  I don't get fired but i end up leaving because i can't cope with the social aspects of the workplace, and I become overwhelmed with stress and anxiety, so i take a few months off and then the cycle repeats.  My current job is a record at nearly two years (they have a very caring ethos which helps I think) but if i start to struggle again I would like to be able to say 'this is why' and have them understand there's an actual reason and i'm not just a useless employee with a history of not sticking it out!