collectingrocks

Asperger's and chess

collectingrocks

For any person on the ASD spectrum who has difficulty inferring other people's thoughts and predicting their motives/moves, how does an Aspie get on at playing chess?

Primeape

I don't understand how to play it

Nesf

I don't play chess either, but I think that some aspies are good at it.

• Helpful 2

Catman2018

I perfer checkers over chess. I'm not good at chess.

aspiesw

I love chess! I'd say I'm ok at it. I do sometimes struggle with thinking moves ahead, I guess I'm not that much of a deep thinker

RiRi

I know how to play chess, but I've never been good at it. I wonder if it has to go with being good at math. I also know how to play checkers, but that one is even more complicated than chess.

Scott

I quite like playing chess, I don't get to play that often though annoyingly. I don't follow any set strategy, I just do what feels right in the moment; a better way to play I think, since you end up being unpredictable and hard to play against.

• Helpful 1

(deleted)

I don't know about Asperger's, but a lot of intelligent people are into chess - my friend included, who is very intelligent and also has Asperger's.

• Helpful 1

collectingrocks

I play chess but I'm not intelligent !

I know all the moves but am hopeless at predicting the opponent's moves in advance - even if the computer is the opponent...

I used to be ace at chess as a young boy but a combination of being out of practice and a regression of me as a person means I'm so rubbish at it now

I'm trying to look at ways to improve my "inferring" skills if that is at all possible...

Asgardian

I tried to play chess once and I found it really difficult. I would imagine many people on the spectrum are good at it, but not me  :P

I will stick to Monopoly  :lol:

Edited by Phil
  • Helpful 1

Aeolienne
On ‎6‎/‎21‎/‎2015 at 11:05 PM, RiRi said: