Juliette

Becoming Self-Employed

Juliette

Hi guys,

How many of you are self-employed, and if you are self-employed, is it something you enjoy, as opposed to working for and with other people? How did you become self-employed in your field, and would you recommend it to other Aspies?

Thank you...

No Longer Here

I'm just dipping my toes into being self employed. I am very happy working alone in my own space. Good thing is that I have an income from a pension so I don't 'need' to put myself under pressure

The other thing that makes me happy is that I am working within my area of special interest

Nesf

I used to be an language teacher in a school, but I couldn't cope with the school environment so I left to become a private teacher. I find it much easier to work from home because I'm in my own environment which I have control over. No commute, no boss, no colleagues to deal with, no staffroom politics. I have some flexibiltiy over which hours I work - I choose not to work before 10am, but work till late. I am my own boss, and I say what goes. The only thing that I find difficult is administration and organisation - since I'm my own boss, this is my responsibility. It can be overwhelming at times. Also, I have to deal with the parents, and the students often want to change the schedule or cancel at last minute, and this can be extremely stressful.

Overall, it is better to be self-employed.

Peridot

Hi guys,

How many of you are self-employed, and if you are self-employed, is it something you enjoy, as opposed to working for and with other people? How did you become self-employed in your field, and would you recommend it to other Aspies?

Thank you...