storm-petrel

Obsessions, job and ability to focus

storm-petrel

OK, I'm not sure I'll be able to explain this well enough to make it clear what I am actually asking but I'll have a go.

At the moment I am having considerable difficulty remaining focused on anything except my job. I can't focus at all on what I usually think of as my main interests which all revolve around the sea, the mountains and natural history.

I can however really hyperfocus on my job. Quite by chance I managed to turn what was an extreme childhood obsession into my career. When that obsession became my career, the nature of my interest in it changed and I now channel all my resources into maintaining my professional standards. I don't want to say what I do for a living as I am worried about my managers or colleagues stumbling across this forum and working out who storm-petrel actually is. My job does involve safety critical work and lots of people depend on me to do it properly to ensure their safety so my ability to hyperfocus on it is good. 

I am diagnosed with a mood disorder but that only seems to cause problems in every other area of my life except my job. When I am feeling depressed my job actually provides considerable relief from that. It is a very repetitive and routine job that is governed entirely by strict procedures and protocols that must be followed to the letter, which is part of the reason I enjoy it and I find it very relaxing and therapeutic at times.  But I can't really understand why at the moment I am unable to focus at all on the other things that I normally love. 

What I am trying to ask is, is it possible that my job is in fact my real special interest and hence I never lose the ability to remain focused on it however I am feeling? Whereas all of those other things are perhaps just hobbies. I do get pretty obsessed with them but perhaps not quite to the same extent as I do with my job.

Little Guy
45 minutes ago, storm-petrel said: