laracroft

Differences between Aspie-Women and Aspie-Men

laracroft

I have read a lot about this and I have some personal experience. Yet, I would really love to see your opinion about that. Do you think there are differences on how autism is expressed in women and men? Do autistic women have any characteristics that in men appear differently and which are those? 

Heather

Yes, I think many autistic traits are expressed differently in Aspie women than Aspie men.  

There is a list of traits of females with Asperger's Syndrome which I identified with a lot, it really helped me accept that my Asperger's diagnosis really did fit me.  I have discussed this in the past on this forum

I believe it's been one of the reasons that Asperger's Syndrome and autism were (still are, I think, but the gap is getting smaller I think) more diagnosed in boys than girls because initially, Hans Asperger noticed the traits in boys.  Girls have similar traits but are expressed differently. Also, the socialization of girls encourages different expression, as girls are more likely socialized to be quiet, staying out of the way and out of trouble, more likely to be quiet whereas boys are more likely to act out or be aggressive (in general) which ends up making them more visible that something is not "normal".  Girls are also more likely to mother/take care of other girls who are different than boys might to other boys who are different, so that can hide some of the social difficulty girls also experience. There are a lot of factors why girls with Autism/Asperger's express traits different than boys diagnosed with it, but I think the list I linked to above lists many of those traits that many females with Autism express very well.

Cosmic
1 hour ago, squeeker said:

Yes, I think many autistic traits are expressed differently in Aspie women than Aspie men.