Myrtonos

Photography licences

Myrtonos

Imagine if one needed a licence to take photos in public, or even carry a camera in public places, and for all professional photography.

• Like 1

Peridot

I'm still an aspiring videographer and a long time ago I actually spoke to people from the government about needing a license or not and they immediately got all tense and said "At all times!". But honestly I feel that if I ever go out with a video camera I should just be able to do so without the government giving me a hard time.

• Like 1

Willow

I think different countries have different laws about shooting in public and whether you need permission or not etc.

I have my public liability insurance which enables me to shoot at events from a better angle if I apply for a media pass before hand. :) 

• Like 1

RiRi

I'm assuming photography licenses are only needed if the pictures will be used for commercial use/potential money making?

• Like 1

RiRi

or are they also needed for personal use? Sorry for double posting, I thought they would merge.

Edited by RiRi

Myrtonos
1 hour ago, Peridot said:

I'm still an aspiring videographer and a long time ago I actually spoke to people from the government about needing a license or not and they immediately got all tense and said "At all times!". But honestly I feel that if I ever go out with a video camera I should just be able to do so without the government giving me a hard time.

I'm not quite sure what you mean by all this.

1 hour ago, Willow said:

I think different countries have different laws about shooting in public and whether you need permission or not etc. 

I have never heard of a country where a licence is required for all photography in public places or all professional photography. Suppose one had to go through a photography course and then pass a test to get that licence and then pay an annual licence fee.