DC1346

I'm a high school teacher in rural Nevada. Since my school is in an impoverished area, we receive additional Federal funding under something called a Title I program. This funding has allowed my school to hire additional teachers and aides. It has also allowed us to acquire additional computers and other instructional tools. As a Title I school, our continued participation in this program requires us to have 4 Title 1 "Parents' Nights" during each school year.  A few weeks ago we had one such event. The theme of the night was math and all of the teachers set up booths so we could interact with students and parents. Since I teach Culinary Arts, I set up a production costing booth but no one visited and I spent 2 1/2 hours reading my Kindle Fire tablet. 

After the event ended, I went out to dinner at a local restaurant. I was reading my tablet when I looked up to see a woman waving in my general direction. I didn't recognize this woman and since there was a table of somewhat noisy people behind me, I assumed that she was waving at them. I didn't think anything of it and went back to reading my tablet and enjoying my dinner.

A few minutes later, a server dropped off a complimentary refill of my beverage. I hadn't asked for a refill but appreciated the gesture. When I looked up to thank the server, I saw that a guy sitting next to the woman who had been waving was now waving in my general direction. Since I didn't recognize this person, I ignored him.

The next morning, as I was walking into the school, our counselor approached me. 

"Why didn't you wave at me last night?"

I looked at her. "Were you waving at me?"

She nodded.

"Did this happen at Chili's?"

She nodded.

I apologized and reminded her that I'm autistic. I explained that I don't have a good memory for names or faces. 

"But you know who I am now."