DC1346

I'm a professional chef with over 15 years of experience in the food service industry. I've literally worked every position there is in casual dining (both front and back of the house) save for having been a general manager. For the past few years, instead of running a commercially licensed kitchen or managing a restaurant (as assistant manager), I've been teaching Culinary Arts. It is my job to get students ready for entry level positions in the food service industry.

Given my background, I really despise incompetence. Like most chefs, I tend to critique meals. I also notice the quality (or lack thereof) of the wait staff.

Today I ate at Chili's. My server today was not very well trained. 

Instead of introducing himself as most servers do, he asked if I was ready to order. The server was apparently a "to the point" guy. Since I tend not to make small talk, I didn't mind this. I ordered shrimp fajitas. They were quite good. What bothers me was that in the middle of my meal, the server brought me my ticket. 

This bothered me for several reasons. Being an aspie, I'm going to generate a list. I take great comfort in listing things. Do any of you like listing things? I think I like lists because numbering things provides structure and I like a really well structured environment. 

1) The server did not suggestively sell dessert or coffee, both of which I would have liked.

2) Giving me a ticket this early in my meal made me feel as though I was being given the bum's rush to leave. 

3) Chili's installed Ziosks at all 800+ locations by March of 2014. A Ziosks is an electronic tabletop device that allows customers a number of options. You may order desserts, alcoholic beverage refills, and appetizers through the Ziosk by using its touch sensitive screen. You may use it to play games. You may even use it to pay your bill and to leave customer feedback.