Sign in to follow this  
Dr-David-Banner

Non Autistic Psychopaths

Dr-David-Banner

I'm studying the possibility the autistic psychopaths studied by Asperger do after all have a connection to non autistic psychopaths. First of all, we need to consider actual psychopaths are not killers out of Bond movies. They may well hurt others emotionally due to lack of empathy but many psychopaths are not evil people. The traits of similarity I notice are narcissism, special interests, high functioning intellect, robotic voice and lack of emotion. Above all lack of empathy. Also maybe lack of team mentality. Yet the big difference is psychopaths are able to bond with others at a superficial level, be polite and not rock the social boat. Autistic psychopaths lack the ability to build social bridges and have motor issues such as clumsiness. Yet these latter described by Asperger in his Psychopathy In Childhood share traits such as narcissism, low empathy, monotone voice and super focus on special interest. Maybe the question I want to explore is does psychopathy have more in common with Asperger's research than we were led to believe? Decades ago the two disorders were distinguished by the term "avoidant". The avoidant psychopaths shut themselves inwards and were more at odds with the outside world. Whereas extrovert psychopaths struggled with issues such as empathy but connected better to the outside world. It may well be the pioneers of psychopathy research addressed these issues more bluntly. 

Dr-David-Banner

All these issues are under exploration on my website but as it's in Russian I needn't post a link. Opinions may change as the site develops along various lines.

Dr-David-Banner