Scheduled Live-streams Read more... ×
Willow

Routine Changes

Willow

Does anyone have a good strategy for changing your routine successfully? 

Ben

I ditched the whole "routine" concept years ago. It's even more important now that it has ever been to keep on moving - what with the ENORMOUS and continuous  evolution with technology, and the way in which we live our lives. (2009 wasn't that long ago, and the iPhone4 was still a year away - just think of how far we've travelled since then.)

I guarantee you, that Ten years from now, you won't hear anyone say "just popping to the shop dear for a loaf of bread" because that shop would have been taken over by an android app. Don't bother trying to go to that same shop for a pint of standard milk either, because the vegan/environmentalist movement is STRONG. Even as a dairy farmer, I'm aware that what I'm actually doing is an inefficient method of sourcing food in the 21st century. It's all about sustainability, so I suspect to see even more food alternatives  through the genetic selection and modification of crop growth - (imagine a plant based milk product with an even greater amino acid profile than animal milk, that has an almost infinite shelf life and is actually cheaper to produce - personally? I can see it happening.) 

All of that aside though, I'm just quick to get bored. For me, routine IS depression. Living in the moment, though moving with the times is the only way I want to live. I don't want to kill my mind with repetition. I'd rather walk into a new situation terrified than exist in a daily ritual bored out of my mind.  

Willow

@Ben I agree with you, I do prefer to live in the moment and do things spontaneously.